Suffolk County League III Wrestling Championship Review

The Suffolk County League III wrestling championships were held at Smithtown East Islip High School on February 5, 2011.

The Suffolk County League III wrestling championships were held at Smithtown East Islip High School on February 5, 2011. The Bulls from Smithtown East (6-0) who won each of their dual meets during the season in League III, did battle with the Redmen from East Islip (3-3), the Newfield Wolverines (4-2), Smithtown West Bulls (3-3) West Islip Lions (4-2), Half Hollow Hills East (1-5) and Centereach (0-6) for the league tournament title and for the opportunity to wrestle at the Suffolk County Championships scheduled to be held at Stony Brook University on February 13 and 14, 2011.

The league championships offer the top two wrestlers in each weight class from each school opportunities for redemption and confirmation as many of the wrestlers met during the current season and in seasons past. The action was intense and the team scoring very tight with East Islip edging out Smithtown East with 7 finalists as against 5 for Smithtown East.

Newfield had six finalists, West Islip 5, Smithtown West 3 and Half Hollow Hills 3. At 96, West Islip junior Travis Isgro (25-5) outscored Smithtown West junior and last year league IV champion Nick Hoffman (30-7) to win 9-7.

At 103, Smithtown East sophomore Steven Bair (23-7) overcame a freak injury to defeat East Islip senior Kenny Risco (20-13) 7-3 for his first league title. Bair’s finger was caught in the whistle clip of the official during a pinning combination in the second period. The clip embedded into the finger like a fish hook and was skillfully removed by the trainers allowing Bair to continue on in the match.

At 112, West Islip sophomore Tyler Walsh (25-6) won his second straight league title with a pin over Newfield 8th grade sensation Brandon Aviles (23-13).

East Islip senior Dave Dellavecchia (33-5) won his second straight league title at 119 over Newfield junior Tom Fenster (24-8), a finalist for the last two years.

Hills East senior Anthony Abidin (28-1) earned his 3rd league championship with a pin over Newfield senior Jesse Dilevo (22-13).

Newfield senior Tyler Lewis (31-7) wrestled a smart match to go along with his A average to defeat tough East Islip freshman Dennis Ferro (25-11), 8-2 at 130.

Smithtown East junior Luke Outcault (31-6) bested his 3rd place finish last year with a league title over West Islip all county Senior Steven Coppola (10-5), 3-1. At 140, Smithtown East junior and third place finisher last year Eric Binder (35-5) avenged an earlier loss with a 3-1 win over Smithtown West senior and now four time league placewinner, Joe Hunsucker (25-12).

At 145 Smithtown East junior Casey O’Malley (29-11) also turned the tables and improved on his 3rd place finish last year and won his first league championship in a 2-1 close match over East Islip sophomore Matt Wilson (27-10).

Hills East senior Deshaun McNeil (18-6) made it two league titles in two years with a 5-1 decision at 152 over Smithtown Bull first time league finalist junior Anthony Forca (15-7) who also improved from 3rd last year.

At 160, Hills East junior Tom Shair (18-5) won a close decision over Smithtown West senior Joe Nappi, (34-5) who improved from his 3rd place finish last year.

At 171 East Islip captain and 2010 all county wrestler Tyler Conway (30-4) defeated West Islip junior Pat Ryan (19-9) 6-1, this being Ryan’s second year as a finalist.

East Islip 189 pound sophomore Chris Chambers (23-11) earned a 5-3 decision over West Islip junior Brendan Smith (22-9).

At 215 Newfield junior Julian Santiago (27-10) won his second league championship in a row with a pin over Smithtown East senior Nick Galante (10-9).

At 285 Newfield junior Karl Rindfliesch (29-3) improved on his 3rd place finish last year and won a 6-0 decision over East Islip sophomore Dan Hayden (26-10).

Suffolk League III Finals – At Smithtown East High School February 5, 2011 Team Scores East Islip 218.5
Smithtown East 194
West Islip 179
Smithtown West 135
Newfield 130.5
Half Hollow Hills East 113.5
Centereach 42

Championship Finals
96 – Travis Isgro (WI) dec. Nick Hoffman (SmW), 9-7
103 – Steven Bair (SmE) dec. Kenny Risco (EI), 7-3
112 – Tyler Walsh (WI) pinned Brandon Aviles (New), 3:41
119 – Dave Dellavecchia (EI) pinned Tom Fenster (New), 1:42
125 – Anthony Abidin (Half Hollow Hills East) pinned Jesse Dilevo (New), 2:35
130 – Tyler Lewis (New) dec. Dennis Ferro (EI), 8-2
135 – Luke Outcault (SmE) dec. Steven Coppola (WI), 3-1
140 – Eric Binder (SmE) dec. Joe Hunsucker (SmW), 3-1
145 – Casey O’malley (SmE) dec. Matt Wilson (EI), 2-1
152 – Deshaun McNeil (HHHE) dec. Anthony Forca (SmE), 5-1
160 – Tom Shair (HHHE) dec. Joe Nappi (SmW), 2-1
171 – Tyler Conway (EI) dec. Pat Ryan (WI), 6-1
189 – Chris Chambers (EI) dec. Brendan Smith (WI), 5-3
215 – Julian Santiago (New) pinned Nick Galante (SmE), 1:08
285 – Karl Rindfliesch (New) dec. Dan Hayden (EI), 6-0
Most Outstanding Wrestler: Anthony Abidin (Half Hollow Hills East, 125)
Most Pins Least Time: Dave Dellavecchia (East Islip, 119) 4 In 9:17

Consolation Finals
96 – Jesse Dellavecchia (EI) dec. Danny Orlando (EI), 4-2
103 – Chris Ardizzone (SmW) dec. Drew Forcino (WI), 5-4
112 – Joe Giamis (SmW) dec. Justin Burns (SmE), 4-2
119 – Dan Burns (SmE) dec. James Punzone (SmW), 1-0
125 – Will Graham (WI) dec. Jake Pusateri (Cen), 4-1
130 – Corey Jones (HHHE) dec. Matt Donovan (WI), 4-3
135 – Nick Terzi (HHHE) pinned Andrew Gray (WI), 1:34
140 – Marco Mosleh (SmW) dec. Joe Byrne (WI), 3-2
145 – Rich Appenzeller (New) pinned Scott Price (SmE), 2:32
152 – Matt Seidel (Cen) dec. Justin Pardo (SmW), 4-3
160 – Nick Oliveri (SmE) dec. Matt Drywa (EI), 7-0
171 – Shawn Cummings (EI) pinned Anthony Boccio (Cen), 4:53
189 – Tim Kopiske (SmE) pinned Dylan Colquhoun (WI), 3:42
215 – James Frost (EI) pinned Charlie Lehner (EI), 3:35
285 – Rami Saad-El-Din (HHHE) pinned Derek Bershad (SmW), 3:47

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *