Mat Notes of Suffolk County League III Championships

At the Suffolk County League III wrestling championship, the Redmen from East Islip, winner of each of their league dual meets during the season (6-0) battled league opponents, North Babylon (5-1), Smithtown East (4-2), Newfield (3-3), West Islip (2-4), Half Hollow Hills East (1-5) and Centereach (0-6).

East Islip, NY (Feb. 6, 2010) At the Suffolk County League III wrestling championship, the Redmen from East Islip, winner of each of their league dual meets during the season (6-0) battled league opponents, North Babylon (5-1), Smithtown East (4-2), Newfield (3-3), West Islip (2-4), Half Hollow Hills East (1-5) and Centereach (0-6).

The league championships offer the top two wrestlers in each weight class from each school opportunities for redemption and confirmation as many of the wrestlers met during the current season and in seasons past. East Islip sent 10 of its wrestlers to the finals with 14 qualifying for the County Championships, followed by Smithtown East with 5 finalists and 9 County qualifiers, North Babylon with 4 finalists and 6 qualifiers, West Islip with 5 in the finals and 6 qualifiers, Newfield had 3 finalists and 7 qualifiers and one finalist each from Half Hollow Hills East and Centereach.

Before the finals, the East Islip coaches presented a plaque of recognition to Half Hollow Hills East coach Tom Magnani for his achievements as the Hills East wrestling coach upon his retirement this year and Coach Magnani was gracious in his speech to the standing room only crowd. Each of the finalists and third place winners will wrestle in the Suffolk County Championships at Stony Brook University on February 12th and 13th with an opportunity to qualify for the New York State Championships to be held in Albany at the end of the month.

Here are the results:

At 96 pounds West Islip freshman Tyler Walsh (21-3) reversed and split Smithtown East sophomore Branson Berger (27-8) for 4 points at the end of the first period to take a 7-4 lead and then withstood Berger’s comeback to tie the match at 7 with a reversal and back points in the last period to win the championship and avenge a dual meet loss.

At 103 West Islip senior Bobby Lang (25-4) recorded a 10-1 major decision over East Islip sophomore and second year finalist Kyle Shevlin (19-18).

At 112 East Islip junior David Dellavecchia (32-5) used a leg ride and pinned Centereach senior Luc Noens (30-6) in the first period for his second consecutive league championship.

At 119 North Babylon junior Tom Bennett (27-7) arm barred and pinned Newfield sophomore Tom Fenster (13-17) in the second period.

At 125 East Islip senior Mike DiLiello (35-7) earned a 7-2 decision and his first league championship over West Islip senior Brian Culkin (23-10).

North Babylon junior Dan Clancy (31-3) was too much for Smithtown East sophomore Eric Binder (20-9) at 130 using a step over reversal from an aggressive upper body ride and earned a pin in the third period up 11-2 after giving up a first period takedown for two of the few points scored against him in the tournament.

East Islip teammates and seniors Alex Brown (31-3) and Tom Carew (25-15) wrestled at 135 with Brown taking his second league championship with a pin in the first period.

At 140 East Islip senior Vinny Chambers (29-3) improved on his third place finish last year with a 7-0 decision over tough Bull sophomore Casey O’Malley (21-12) from Smithtown East.

At 145 pounds, North Babylon junior Tim Gage (20-12) bested West Islip senior Danny Walsh again (22-11) by a score of 9-4.

At 152 junior DeShawn McNeil (26-5) from Half Hollow Hills East who defeated 2009 league champion Tyler Conway (31-6) in the semifinals won a controversial 7-6 overtime decision over Smithtown East senior and returning 2009 league champion and 3 time league finalist Kyle Eagan (17-8; 102 career wins). McNeil was penalized twice for false starts and was down 4-2 when he scrambled for a take down and two quickly called back points to take a 6-5 lead at the end of the second period. After letting Eagan up neither wrestler could take the other down and the match went into overtime. There were no take downs in the first overtime period and McNeil held on to Eagan in the 2nd OT period and then escaped with 15 seconds remaining in the 3rd overtime period and then held off the charging Eagan to win 7-6 and earn his first championship and trip to the Counties.

At 160 Smithtown Bull senior Dan Reiter (27-8) earned his first league championship after a second place finish last year with a pin in the second period over West Islip sophomore Pat Ryan (17-8) in a rematch of Reiter’s dual meet decision a few weeks prior.

East Islip teammates and 2009 league champion Erik Vik (28-8) forfeited to his senior teammate and now two time league champion Nick Arma (33-4) at 171.

North Babylon senior Frank Capogna (23-7) pinned Smithtown East junior Pat Falk (23-11) at 189 in the second period after a 4-0 lead to best his second place finish last year to Arma.

At 215 Newfield’s powerful sophomore Julian Santiago (21-11) reversed and pinned East Islip junior James Frost (16-11).

And at 285 East Islip senior Andrew Slawson (26-4) earned his second league championship with a pin in the last period of overtime after scoring 4 points in the second overtime period over big Newfield junior John Phipps (8-4).

East Islip, 280
Smithtown East, 191
North Babylon, 183
Newfield, 141
West Islip, 108
Half Hollow Hills East, 59
Centereach, 17.5
Championship Finals
96 – Tyler Walsh (WI) dec. Branson Berger (SmE), 12-7
103 – Bobby Lang (WI) major dec. Kyle Shevlin (EI), 10-1
112 – David Dellavecchia (EI) pinned Luc Noens (Cen), 1:48
119 – Tom Bennett (NB) pinned Tom Fenster (New), 2:34
125 – Mike DiLiello (EI) dec. Brian Culkin (WI), 7-2
130 – Dan Clancy (NB) pinned Eric Binder (SmE), 4:53
135 – Alex Brown (EI) pinned Tom Carew (EI), 1:25
140 – Vinny Chambers (EI) dec. Casey O’Malley (SmE), 7-0
145 – Tim Gage (NB) dec. Danny Walsh (WI), 9-4
152 – DeShawn McNeil (HHHE) dec. Kyle Eagan (SmE), 7-6, OT
160 – Dan Reiter (SmE) pinned Pat Ryan (WI), 3:48
171 – Nick Arma (EI) won by forfeit over Erik Vik (EI)
189 – Frank Capogna (NB) pinned Pat Falk (SmE), 2:41
215 – Julian Santiago (New) pinned James Frost (EI), 2:42
285 – Andrew Slawson (EI) pinned John Phipps (New), 7:39, OT
Most Outstanding Wrestler: DaShawn McNeil (Half Hollow Hills East, 152)
Most Pins Least Time: Dan Clancy (North Babylon, 130) 4 in 10:37
Consolation Finals
96 – Kenny Risco (EI) dec. Justin Morena (EI), 8-6
103 – Nick Gennaro (WI) pinned Tyler Letezia (SmE), 1:40
112 – Anthony Hirschfield (New) dec. Nick Domnisch (NB), 2-1
119 – Dennis Ferro (EI) won by injury forfeit Matt Donovan (WI)
125 – Brian Belmont (NB) pinned Kamali O’Brian (NB), 1:36
130 – Tyler Lewis (New) dec. Nick Terzi (HHHE), 9-5, OT
135 – Luke Outcault (SmE) dec. Paul Perticone (NB), 2-1
140 – Anthony Forca (SmE) dec. Mike Fitzroy (NB), 7-2
145 – Nick Oliveri (SmE) dec. Brendon Oseback (SmE), 9-2
152 – Tyler Conway (EI) major dec. Rich Appenzeller (New), 12-1
160 – Anthony Argenti (EI) pinned Jose Correa (NB), 2:00
171 – Tim Kopiske (SmE) dec. Ron Denig (New), 1-0
189 – Colton Fusaro (New) pinned Anthony Grassa (NB), 1:30
215 – Anthony Capenelli (WI) dec. Justin Teufel (HHHE), 4-1
285 – Karl Rindfliesch (New) dec. Rami Saad-El Din (HHHE), 5-3, OT

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *