Results as of Week 02b-09

Nassau and suffolk county dual meet and tournament results from January 9th through and including January 10th.

Smithtown Tournament
January 10, 2009 at Smithtown East High School
Team Scores
John Glenn 473
Longwood 391.5
Connetquot 238
Smithtown East 134
Half Hollow Hills East 101
Smithtown West 78
Deer Park 57
St. John the Baptist 42
Grand Street Campus 34 – PSAL

Championship Finals
96 – Corey Rasheed (LW) MD Raymond Nicosia (LW) 13-0
103 – Malik Rasheed (LW) dec Sean McCabe (Con) 8-7
112 – Nicky Hall (LW) dec James Dekrone (JG) 5-1
119 – Casey Brice (LW) MD Matt Gannon (JG) 9-0
125 – Nick Meinsen (JG) dec James Cameron (Con) 6-0
130 – Patrick Jennings (LW) dec Tyler Sinisgalli (JG) 3-2
135 – Matt Fusaro (JG) dec Connor Gribbin (Con) 2-0
140 – Nick Terdick (JG) dec Ryan Kopiske (SmE) 3-0
145 – Mike Bosco (JG) dec Justin Bridges (JG) 5-1
152 – Alex Rosenberg (JG) dec Joe Giaramita (JG) 2-1
160 – Chris Carlucci (JG) dec John Zullo (Con) 11-8
171 – William Parks (LW) dec Lawrence Dolce (JG) 9-1
189 – Jake Smith (SmW) pin Lazares (HHHE) 3:12
215 – Ernest James (LW) MD Kevin Cassidy (SmE) 12-1
285 – Ben Lee (LW) pin Schery (HHHE) 1:37
Most Outstanding Wrestler: Patrick Jennings (Longwood 130)
Most Pins Least Time: Corey Rasheed (Longwood 96) 3 in 1:16

Mat notes reported by Howard Greenberg

The annual Smithtown Tournament was held on January 10, 2009 at Smithtown East High School. Wrestlers from John Glenn and Longwood dominated the tournament winning 13 of the 14 weight classes with the Longwood Lions besting the John Glenn Knights in four of the finals matches. The finals were held on two mats as to move the tournament along as the weather worsened throughout the day. Longwood’s 7th grade sensation Corey Rasheed (now 27-0) defeated his 8th grade teammate Raymond Nocosia 13-0 at 96. At 102 his brother Malik Rasheed (21-2) used a 3 point near fall and held on to beat County place winner freshman Sean McCabe (14-1) from Connetquot, 8-7. Longwood 8th grader Nicky Hall (22-2) controlled freshman James Dekrone (12-2) from John Glenn at 112, 5-1. Longwood sophomore Casey Brice (23-1) beat John Glenn junior and last year league place winner Matt Gannon (13-2) by a major decision 9-0. John Glenn 125 pound junior and returning state place winner Nick Meinsen remained undefeated this year (14-0) with a victory over league champion and senior James Cameron from Connetquot 6-0. At 130, 10th grader Patrick Jennings from Longwood increased his record this year to 24-1 with a win over John Glenn senior and county place winner Tyler Sinisgalli in a closely contested match 3-2. Sinsigalli obtained his 100th career win in the quarterfinals of the tournament. At 135, junior Matt Fusaro from John Glenn (13-0) beat junior and league champion Connor Gribbin, 2-0. At 140, John Glenn co-captain and county place winner junior Nick Terdick (14-0) used a strong upper body tight waist and wrist ride to beat a determined Ryan Kopiske from Smithtown East 3-0. John Glenn junior Mike Bosco beat his teammate senior Justin Bridges at 145, 5-1. In another meeting of teammates from John Glenn, junior Alex Rosenberg narrowly beat sophomore Joe Giaramita 2-1. John Glenn senior Chris Carlucci stayed unbeaten this year (14-0) over a tough three time tournament finalist sophomore John Zullo from Connetquot 11-8. At 171 Longwood Senior and highly ranked wrestler William Parks beat John Glenn senior Lawrence Dolce 9-1. At 189 highly ranked Smithtown West junior and two time league finalist Jake Smith remained unbeaten (19-0) and pinned Lazares from Half Hollow Hills East at 3:12. At 215, top ranked Longwood senior Ernest James controlled Smithtown East senior Kevin Cassidy 12-1 handing Cassidy his only loss this year. At 285 Longwood Junior Ben Lee pinned Schery from Half Hollow Hills East at 1:37.

Bradshaw Tournament at Canandaigua
January 10, 2009
Team Scores
Attica 187
Rush-Henrietta 174
Northport 165.5
Queensbury 145
Batavia 140.5
Guilderland 130
Canandaigua 129,
Churchville-Chili 119
Brockport 117.5
Greene 108
Newark 95
Gates Chili 78
Geneva 71
Irondequoit 68
Byron-Bergen 67
Webster Schroeder 67
Bishop Kearney 66.5
Palmyra-Macedon B 66
Waterloo 62
Livonia 56
Perry 44.5
York 43
Penfield B 34.5
Dundee 33
Carthage 16

Championship Finals
96 – Josh St.John (Queensbury) dec Ben Brooks (Irondequoit), 10-4
103 – Brad Mayville (BK) dec Ian Ross (Newark), 9-2
112 – Joe Smaldone (Geneva) dec Nick Lazarony (Batavia), 8-5
119 – Chester Demanchick (GC) dec Vinnie Napierski (Attica), 8-2
125 – Lance Compton (Attica) dec Ben Mowry (PM B), 5-4
130 – Matt Cubillos (Guilderland) pin Phil Moore (RH), 0:43
135 – Jon Roberts (RH) dec Louis Cucchiara (GC), 17-4
140 – Tim Coughlin (Livonia) dec Matt Lashway (Queensbury), 6-4
145 – Dan Gorman (Northport) dec Sean Grove (RH), 3-1
152 – Tony Fusco (Queensbury) dec Anthony Crivello (Northport), 2-1
160 – Ryan Darch (Batavia) dec Troy Ireland (Batavia), 6-1
171 – Luke Pariso (Attica) dec Zack Green (BB), 9-0
189 – Christian Boley (Brockport) dec Dave Jennings (Attica), 11-5
215 – Devan Van Auken (Guilderland) dec Earnest Pringle (CC), 13-1
285 – Michael Raplee (Dundee) dec Doug Beitz (Attica), 7-4
Aggregate Pin Award: Matt Cubillos (Guilderland)
Most Outstanding Wrestler: Jon Roberts (RH)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *